Site Map  |  Search  |  What Can I Do To Help?  |  Partnerships

Last Updated: 08/07/02

CIT Homepage
CIT Prevention Programs

CIT Research Programs

CIT Training Programs


Company Profile  Title Bar

CIT Board of Directors

Nels D. Sanddal, MS, REMT-B, President
Mr. Sanddal oversees all research, grants and projects for the CIT Foundation, assists other states with management of federal EMS projects and is a frequent conference speaker. Mr. Sanddal writes and directs video projects, as well as developing, writing and editing reports, presentations, proposals and training materials. Nels has been involved in EMS since the 1970s and has held many state, regional and national positions in organizations furthering EMS causes, including president of the Intermountain Regional EMS for Children Coordinating Council and core faculty for the Development of Trauma Systems Training Programs for the U.S. Dept. of Transportation. Mr. Sanddal is a Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technician-Basic, volunteers with a local fire department, and has been involved with the CIT Foundation since its inception. He holds a MS in psychology and is currently pursuing a PhD in health services. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Stuart A. Reynolds, MD, FACS, Vice President
Dr. Reynolds is a retired trauma and general surgeon from Havre, a rural community on Montana's northern high line. Dr. Reynolds is considered an authority on rural trauma care and has worked tirelessly to further Montana's trauma care system efforts. He has served as co-principal investigator on several of CIT's research projects. He is sought after as a conference speaker and has been particularly active with the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Reynolds has been a board member since the Critical Illness and Trauma Foundation was founded in 1986. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Thomas J. Esposito, MD, FACS, MPH, Vice President
Dr. Esposito is a trauma surgeon and is assistant director of the Loyola University Burn and Shock Trauma Institute. He directs the Injury Analysis and Medical Program at Loyola. Dr. Esposito is well-published in the trauma field, is sought-after as a conference speaker and has served as co-principal investigator on several of CIT's research projects. In addition to trauma care and research interests, he is well versed in issues of injury prevention and epidemiology. Dr. Esposito has been a board member since 1991. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Linda D. Williams, BS, REMT-I, Treasurer, Assistant Secretary
Ms. Williams serves as MSU County Extension Agent and Disaster and Emergency Services Coordinator for Chouteau County, a rural area in north central Montana. She remains an active Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate and is training coordinator for her ambulance service. Both in terms of field experience and in her tireless efforts to improve EMS, Ms. Williams is truly one of the region's most knowledgeable experts in emergency medical services. She has been active with professional EMS associations at both the state and national levels. Ms. Williams has been a board member since the Critical Illness and Trauma Foundation was founded in 1986. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Jeanne P. O'Brien, MN, REMT-P, Secretary
Ms. O'Brien is an education specialist in charge of primary and continuing education for EMTs and paramedics for the Tacoma Fire Department. She is a popular speaker at EMS conferences nationwide. Ms. O'Brien has been a preeminent trainer in prehospital EMS for more than 20 years. She has contributed to numerous publications and training curricula including the first edition of Prehospital Trauma Life Support. Ms. O'Brien was elected to the board in 1998. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Katrina B. Altenhofen, MPH, EMT-P
Ms. Altenhofen is the State Emergency Medical Services for Children Coordinator for the Iowa Department of Public Health - Bureau of Emergency Medical Services. Katrina has a variety of interests, particularly in the realm of prevention. She is a Certified Child Passenger Safety Trainer with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as well as a founding member of the Iowa Lyme Disease Foundation. She is a dynamic speaker on a variety of prevention and clinical EMS topics and has presented at local, state, regional and national conferences. Ms. Altehofen was elected to the board in 1999. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Ellen J. MacKenzie, PhD
Dr. MacKenzie is director of the Center for Injury Research and Policy and senior associate dean for academic affairs at The Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. She is well known for her research in the trauma arena as noted by her contributions to "Cost of Injury" and numerous other landmark publications. Dr. MacKenzie was elected to the board in 1998. Back to CIT Board of Directors

Robert W. Milvet, Jr., CPA
Mr. Milvet is the Corporate Controller for University Health Associates (UHA) in Morgantown, WV, whereby he oversees the finance and accounting functions for the WVU Medical and Dental Corporations, and serves in a similar capacity for the WVU Physicians of Charleston WV. This West Virginia native is a 1996 graduate of West Virginia University with a BSBA in accounting. Mr. Milvet serves on the United Way of Monongalia and Preston Counties as a board member, an executive committee member, assistant treasurer and as the chairman of a development-stage planned giving committee. He also is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, and is licensed to practice in West Virginia.  Prior to joining UHA, Mr. Milvet served as a senior accountant for two of the largest accounting firms worldwide, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Ernst & Young, providing audit and business advisory services to oil & gas, retail technology, manufacturing and health care clients throughout the nation. He brings to the CIT Board his expertise in financial management.

John E. Prescott, MD, FACEP
Dr. Prescott is President and CEO of West Virginia University Health Associates. He is Associate Dean of Clinical Enterprise and professor of emergency medicine. He was the founder and first director of the Center for Rural Emergency Medicine (CREM), an outreach program that provides technical assistance, continuing education, injury control recommendations and projects to overcome rural challenges to hospital, EMS providers and communities. Dr. Prescott was elected to the board in 1998. Back to CIT Board of Directors

James D. Upchurch, MD, FAAFP
Dr. Upchurch, a family practice physician, is medical director for the Billings Indian Health Services EMS and medical director for the Big Horn County Advanced Life Support Ambulance in Hardin, which is located in eastern Montana. He was co-principal investigator of the alcohol related injury recidivism research project completed by the CIT Foundation. Dr. Upchurch is an innovator in training for rural prehospital providers, especially in the development of distance education.  Dr. Upchurch was elected to the board in 1998. Back to CIT Board of Directors


Copyright 1997-2001 [Critical Illness & Trauma Foundation]. All rights reserved.
Comments or Suggestions?